

Office of the Chicago City Clerk



Office of the City Clerk

City Council Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date:

6/6/2012

Sponsor(s):

Emanuel, Rahm (Mayor)

Type:

Resolution

Title:

2012 Golden Apple Award

Committee(s) Assignment:

A resolution

adopted by The City Council of the City of Chicago, Illinois



Presented by _	MAYOR RAHM EMANUEL	on	JUNE 6, 2012
Trescrition og -			

Whereas, The Golden Apple Foundation has conferred its prestigious 2012 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching on ten teachers of grades Pre-Kindergarten through Third grade in recognition of their outstanding achievements as educators; and

WHEREAS, A not-for-profit organization based in Chicago, the Golden Apple Foundation advances the profession of teaching by recognizing excellent educators; by recruiting and preparing talented high school students and college graduates to be teachers through innovative training programs; and by improving the skills of current teachers through professional development; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to the proposition that "all children deserve excellent teachers," the Golden Apple Foundation has recognized exceptional teachers in the Chicago area each year since 1986; and

WHEREAS, Chosen through a rigorous process by a volunteer committee of distinguished Chicago-area educators, this year's recipients of the Golden Apple Award were selected from a pool of 560 highly qualified Pre-Kindergarten through Third grade teachers from Cook, Lake, Kane, Will and DuPage counties; and

WHEREAS, The recipients of the 2012 Golden Apple Award are Maria Barba (3rd grade, Douglas MacArthur Elementary School, Hoffman Estates), Monique Blakes (1st grade, Oscar DePriest Elementary School, Chicago), Kathy Burns (2nd grade, Highlands Elementary School, Naperville), Bryan Jackson (3rd grade, Latin School, Chicago), Pam Kelly (1st grade, Naper Elementary School, Naperville), Elizabeth Luna (Kindergarten, Murray Language Academy, Chicago), Denise Ostarello (1st through 3rd grades, Crete Elementary School, Crete), Zackary Ruelas (3rd grade, St. Malachy School, Chicago), Susan Stephan (1st and 2nd grades, Norwood Park Elementary School, Chicago), and Robert Taylor (2nd grade, Central Road Elementary School, Rolling Meadows); and



WHEREAS, Each Golden Apple Award recipient receives a tuition-free, spring quarter sabbatical to study at Northwestern University. Each recipient also receives a \$3,000 cash award. Perhaps most importantly, Golden Apple teachers become Fellows of the Golden Apple Academy of Educators, providing a stronger voice and a larger stage from which to make an impact on education, through ongoing professional development and engagement in education reform, such as the mentoring of future teachers through the Golden Apple Scholars of Illinois program; and

WHEREAS, The recipients of the 2012 Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching will be honored at a Black-Tie event on October 12, 2012 at WTTW/Channel 11 Studios in Chicago. WTTW will also broadcast the awards in a one-hour television program following the event; and

WHEREAS, Each recipient of the 2012 Golden Apple Award achieved outstanding results with students, motivated them to learn, and equipped them with the values and skills they need to reach their full potential and to succeed in our rapidly changing society; and

WHEREAS, Because our children are our future, no one is more deserving of our admiration and respect than these extraordinary teachers, who give generously of themselves each day to educate and inspire our children; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this sixth day of June, 2012, do hereby applaud this year's recipients of the 2012 Golden Apple Award for their impressive dedication to teaching, the most noble of professions, and welcome their future contributions to the Golden Apple Academy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the 2012 Golden Apple Award recipients Maria Barba, Monique Blakes, Kathy Burns, Bryan Jackson, Pam Kelly, Elizabeth Luna, Denise Ostarello, Zackary Ruelas, Susan Stephan, and Robert Taylor as a token of our esteem and good wishes.

MAYOR

CITÝ CLERK