Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
Record #: R2016-527   
Type: Resolution Status: Adopted
Intro date: 7/20/2016 Current Controlling Legislative Body:
Final action: 7/20/2016
Title: Congratulations extended to Diana Bustamente, Gabriela Casarrubias, Lavon Halloway and Victor Story on receipt of Envision Chicago scholarship
Sponsors: Mendoza, Susana A., Austin, Carrie M., Maldonado, Roberto, Napolitano, Anthony V., Pawar, Ameya
Attachments: 1. R2016-527.pdf

, Envision Chicago is a new initiative for students in Chicago Public High Schools to share ideas to improve city laws through a scholarship contest; and

WHEREAS, Envision Chicago gives CPS students the chance to imagine a better Chicago and make suggestions on how to improve their neighborhoods, wards, and schools; and

WHEREAS, Envision Chicago introduces students to the laws of Chicago through , the city's first open data edition of its municipal code created through a partnership between the Chicago City Clerk's Office and The OpenGov Foundation; and

WHEREAS, Envision Chicago allows students to participate in the legislative process in a way that speaks to them most effectively, through technology; and

WHEREAS, Diana Bustamente of Lakeview High School, Gabriela Casarrubias of Marine Leadership Academy, Lavon Halloway of Excel Academy, and Victor Story of William Howard Taft High School all demonstrated a passion for civic engagement; and .

WHEREAS, One student from each of the four schools was awarded a $1,000 scholarship so that they may build upon their education; and

WHEREAS, Microsoft, Haymarket, ComEd, Comcast, and The Smart Chicago Collaborative generously invested in the future of our city's youth by funding scholarships for Envision Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Encouraging civic engagement by ouryouth is one ofthe most important steps our city can take to make Chicago the best city it can be; now, therefore.

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members ofthe City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this twentieth day of July, 2016, do hereby congratulate Diana Bustamente, Gabriela Casarrubias, Lavon Halloway, and Victor Story on being the winners of Envision Chicago in its inaugural year; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution are presented to each student as a t...

Click here for full text