Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
Record #: R2017-306   
Type: Resolution Status: Adopted
Intro date: 4/19/2017 Current Controlling Legislative Body:
Final action: 4/19/2017
Title: Congratulations extended to recipients of 2017 Golden Apple Award
Sponsors: Emanuel, Rahm, Brookins, Jr., Howard, Solis, Daniel, Mell, Deborah, Burnett, Jr., Walter
Attachments: 1. R2017-306.pdf





April 19,2017














Ladies and Gentlemen:


I transmit herewith, together with Aldermen Brookins, Solis, Mell and Burnett, a congratulatory resolution regarding the most recent recipients of the Golden Apple Teacher's Award.


Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.




Very truly yours,



re so

o^by ^Me Gity Gouncil of ihe Gity of Gkicago, Illinois

Aldermen Howard Brookins, Jr., Daniel Solis,. .
Walter Burnett, Jr., Deborah L. Mell, and
                     4 ,

presented by Mayor Rdhm Emanuel  .,                     ^ } April !9, 2017 ,,.jy"


AvflCTCWS' T^e Gc'lden. Apple Foundation has conferred its prestigious 2017 Golden Apple Award for .Excellence in Teaching on:- four Chicago teachers and- • conferred its 2017 Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award on one Chicago school principal '., in recognition of their outstanding achievements as educators; and


WHEREAS, A not-for-profit organization based in Chicago, the Golden Apple
Foundation advances the profession of teaching by recognizing excellent educators; by,
recruiting and preparing talented high school students and college graduates,to. be •
teachers through innovative training programs; and by improving the skills of current -
teachers through professional development; and
                     .    '      .-'     ' .:vyy


WHEREAS, Dedicated to its : founding proposition •that "all children deserve excellent teachers," the Golden- Apple; ^Foundation has1 recognized, exceptional -teachers jn the Chica'go area each year since 1986; and   -.   ;> '


WHEREAS, Chosen through a rigorous process by a volunteer committee of .
distinguished Chicago-area educators, thjs year's recipients of the Golden Apple Award'
were selected from over 600 nominees; they are indeed worthy of recognition by their
peers; and
                     - '/                     y                     . .   ■■■ ''•'       ''- = ;'


WHEREAS, The Chicago recipients of the 2017 Golden Apple'.Award for Excellence .-=. in Teaching.are Mr. Fitzgerald Crame, gfadeJanguage-brts^math, science, STEM, arts, and electives teacher, Thomas .A. Edison Regional Gifted Center, Ms. Sarah Fqller, -6thr8th grade literacy and '-social'science teacher, Jonathan Burr Elementary School,. Ms. C Karen Ramirez, 6th' grade reading, writing, and social studies teacher,. Richard J. Daley Academy, and Ms. Alison Ridgway, 6th-8th grade math teacher, 'Skinner North Classical -.. Elementary School; and : -        ' \\r-w;.{    '''"' y'y:'yf "'.,'''      '      -'.,i


; ' • WHEREAS, The recipientdf the '2017 Golden Apple' Stanley C. Golden Leadership :' AwgrdvisMs, Phyllis Cavallone-Jurek, Principal, St. Therese-Chinfese'Cathplic School; and. '



WHEREAS, Each Golden-Apple Award recipient receives a tuition-free, spring ' quarter sabbatical to study at Northwestern University. Each recipient also receives a $5,000 honorarium Perhaps most importantly, Golden Apple teachers become . Fellows of the Golden Apple Academy of Educators, providing a,stronger voice and a larger stage from which to make an impact on education, through ongoing professional-development and engagement in education reforrrvsuch as. the mentoring of future teachers through the Golderi Apple Scholars of Illinois program; and-;


WHEREAS, Each "Stanley C- Golder Award . recipient receives a $10,000 honorarium, $5,000 to be used for a school project and $5,000 for personal professional' development; and ./:


WHEREAS, The recipients of the 20.17 Golden' Apple Awards for Excellence \n Teaching and Leadership will be honored on May 20, 2017. at WTTW/Channel 11 Studios in Chicago.  WTTW will broadcast the awards in. a one-hour televised program; and \


WHEREAS,. Because our children are bur future,, no one is more deserving of our admiration and respect than these extraordinary'teachers;'-who give' generously of themselves each day to educate and inspire pur children; now, therefore,' « ,  . '", -


BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the'City
of Chicago/assembled this nineteenth day of April, 2017, do hereby applaud this year's
recipients of the 2017 Golden Apple Award for their impressive dedication to teaching,,
the most noble of professions, and welcome their future contributions to the. Golden
Apple-Academy; and .
                     ... i_ V-'.:


BE /T FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the 2017 Golden. Apple Award recipients" Fitzgerald Crarrie, Sarah:--Fdller, Karen Ramirez, Alison Ridgway, and Phyllis Cavalione-Jurek as-a token of.ouresteem and. good wishes. :,