

City of Chicago



R2018-514

Office of the City Clerk

Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date: 5/25/2018

Sponsor(s): Villegas (36)
Moreno (1)

Sadlowski Garza (10)

Cardenas (12) Lopez (15)

Munoz (22) Solis (25)

Maldonado (26) Reboyras (30) Santiago (31) Ramirez-Rosa (35)

Type: Resolution

Title: Congratulations extended to recipients of Chicago Latino

Caucus Foundation Scholarships 2018

Committee(s) Assignment:

RESOLUTION HONORING 2018 RECIPIENTS OF CHICAGO LATINO CAUCUS FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP

WHEREAS, The Chicago City Council Latino Caucus strives to improve the quality of life for Latino families in the City of Chicago, by assuring that the Latino community's best interests are represented in City Council; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Caucus greatly focuses on the importance of education in the Latino community, and it is committed to develop the next generation of leaders in Chicago by promoting higher education; and

WHEREAS, Income should never limit one's education, hopes or dreams; and,

WHEREAS, The Chicago City Council Latino Caucus formed the Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation to support the advancement of Latino Youth through scholarship, internship and mentorship opportunities; and

WHEREAS, In 2018 the Chicago Latino Caucus awards the second scholarship to 22 recipients, who worked hard to achieve great success and deserve to be celebrated accordingly; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Latino Caucus would like to celebrate every recipient of this prestigious scholarship and remind him or her that All of Chicago is proud of their hard work and is looking forward to sharing their bright future; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled on this twenty-fifth day of May, 2018 do hereby congratulate the following youth, named the 2018 Latino Caucus Scholars: Axel A. Mota, Aaron F. Galka, Aiden Guzman, Alexa M. Soto, Alexandra R. Moreno, Alexia F. Barrios, Alexander J. Olmanczuk, Angela Briones, Anthony E. Suarez, Ashley Perez, Carlos Martinez, Cintia Y. Garcia, Eddie Salgado, Hugo V. Huitron, Jennifer Escobedo, Jose Noel Ruiz, Justen R. Barrero, Laura V. Aguilar, Marcos Hernandez, Terey Santana Tellez, Yessica Pineda, and Wilfredo A. Colon; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary students as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a bright and prosperous future.

Alderman Gilbert Villegas, 36th Ward

Alderman Joe Moreno. 1st

Alderman Susan Sadlowski Garza, 10th Ward

Alderman George Cardenas, 12th Ward

Alderman Ricardo Muñoz, 22nd Ward

Alderman Daniel Solis, 25th Ward

Alderman Roberto Maldonado, 26th Ward

Alderman Ariel Reboyras, 30th Ward

Alderman Mily Santiago, 31st Ward

Alderman Carlos Ramirez-Rosa, 35th Ward