

City of Chicago

R2015-585

Office of the City Clerk Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date:

Sponsor(s):

Type:

Title:

7/29/2015

Emanuel (Mayor)

Resolution

Congratulations extended to Golden Apple Teacher Award recipients

Committee(s) Assignment:



OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

CITY OF CHICAGO

RAHM EMANUEL MAYOR

July 29, 2015

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

÷

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith a congratulatory resolution concerning the Golden Apple Teacher Award Recipients.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Very truly yours,

RalEmanuel

Mayor

CONS

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Golden Apple Foundation has conferred its prestigious 2015 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching on ten pre-Kindergarten through third grade teachers in recognition of their outstanding achievements as educators, and its esteemed 2015 Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award on Dr. Christy Adler, the Principal of Sprague Elementary School, Lincolnshire, in appreciation of her accomplishments as a school leader; and

WHEREAS, A not-for-profit organization based in Chicago, the Golden Apple Foundation advances the profession of teaching by recognizing excellent educators and school leaders; by recruiting and preparing talented high school students and college graduates to be teachers through innovative training programs; and by improving the skills of current teachers through professional development; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to transforming teachers and teaching and elevating student performance, the Golden Apple Foundation has each year recognized exceptional teachers and outstanding school leaders in the Chicago area; and

WHEREAS, Chosen through a rigorous process by a volunteer committee of distinguished Chicago-area educators, this year's recipients of the Golden Apple Award were selected from more than 600 nominations of highly qualified teachers throughout the Chicago metropolitan area; and

WHEREAS, Recipients of the 2015 Golden Apple Award are: Dr. Sonya Fields (Arthur Dixon Elementary School, Chicago); Ms. Phyllis LaCour (Pulaski International School of Chicago, Chicago); Mrs. Monica Prinz (Gillespie Elementary School, Chicago); Mr. Fontane Thomas (Stephen K. Hayt Elementary School, Chicago); Mr. John Campbell (Ravinia Elementary School, Highland Park); Mr. Lee Parrott (Wesmere Elementary School, Plainfield); Ms. Lauren Saliny (Washington Irving Elementary School, Oak Park); Mr. James Schamber (Orrington Elementary School, Evanston); Mrs. Lillian Tsai (South Early Childhood Center, Westmont); and Mr. George Vlasis (Hough Street Elementary School, Barrington); and

WHEREAS, Dr. Adler, the Golder Leadership Award recipient, is known for her advocacy of unique teacher styles, creation of bilingual services and embrace of multiculturism, along with her tireless work to help students excel to meet their potential. Under her leadership, Sprague Elementary School is recognized as a Blue Ribbon School, a designation from the U.S. Department of Education, and standardized test scores for the school are in the top tier of the Illinois Standard Achievement Tests. Dr. Adler will receive a \$10,000 cash award for her own professional development and a school project of her choice; and

WHEREAS, Each Golden Apple Award recipient receives a tuition-free, spring quarter sabbatical to study at Northwestern University. Each recipient also receives a \$5,000 cash award. Perhaps most importantly, Golden Apple teachers become Fellows of the Golden Apple Academy of Educators, providing a stronger voice and larger stage from which to make an impact on education, through ongoing professional development and engagement in education reform, such as the mentoring of future teachers through the Golden Apple Scholars of Illinois program; and

WHEREAS, The awardees will be honored at an awards ceremony on October 30, 2015 at WTTW/Channel 11 Studios in Chicago, which will also broadcast the awards in a one-hour television program following the event; and

WHEREAS, Each awardee achieved outstanding results with students, motivated them to learn, and equipped them with the values and skills they need to reach their full potential and to succeed in our rapidly changing society; and

WHEREAS, Because our children are our future, no one is more deserving of our admiration and respect than these extraordinary teachers and leader, who give generously of themselves each day to educate and inspire our children; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this twenty-ninth day of July, 2015, do hereby applaud this year's recipients of the Golden Apple Award and this year's recipient of the Golder Leadership Award for their impressive dedication to education and teaching, the most noble of professions, and welcome their future contributions to the Golden Apple Academy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the 2015 Golden Apple Award recipients; Dr. Sonya Fields, Ms. Phyllis LaCour, Mrs. Monica Prinz, Mr. Fontane Thomas, Mr. John Campbell, Mr. Lee Parrott, Ms. Lauren Saliny, Mr. James Schamber, Mrs. Lillian Tsai and Mr. George Vlasis, and the 2015 Golder Leadership Award recipient; Dr. Christy Adler, as a token of our esteem and good wishes.