

City of Chicago



R2021-1485

Office of the City Clerk

Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date:

Sponsor(s):

12/15/2021

Lightfoot (Mayor)

Sigcho-Lopez (25)

Martin (47)

Sadlowski Garza (10)

Vasquez, Jr. (40)

Ramirez-Rosa (35)

Silverstein (50)

Coleman (16)

Cappleman (46)

Taylor (20)

Waguespack (32)

Hadden (49)

Smith (43)

Scott, Jr. (24)

Ervin (28)

Lopez (15)

Dowell (3)

O'Shea (19)

Rodriguez (22)

Osterman (48)

Hopkins (2)

King (4)

Villegas (36)

La Spata (1)

Brookins (21)

Hairston (5)

Thompson (11)

Burnett (27)

Rodriguez Sanchez (33)

Nugent (39)

Tunney (44)

Resolution

Congratulations extended to Chicago Public School student athletes on city championship titles

Committee(s) Assignment:

Type:

Title:



OFFICE OF THE MAYOR CITY OF CHICAGO

LORI E. LIGHTFOOT

MAYOR

December 15, 2021

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith, together with Aldermen Sigcho-Lopez, Martin, Sadlowski Garza, Vasquez, Ramirez-Rosa, Silverstein, Coleman, Cappleman, Taylor, Waguespack, Hadden, Smith, Scott, Ervin, Lopez, Dowell, O'Shea, Rodriguez, Osterman, Hopkins, King, Villegas, La Spata, Brookins, Hairston, Thompson, Burnett, Rodriguez-Sanchez, Nugent and Tunney, a congratulatory resolution honoring high school City champions.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Very truly yours

Mayor

RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, Each year Chicago Public Schools students compete in a wide variety of athletic competitions with the goal of winning the Chicago Public League; and
- **WHEREAS**, Following hard-fought seasons, the Chicago Public League crowned champions in 11 different sports; and
- WHEREAS, Walter Payton College Preparatory High School students, Evan Birks, Michael Chen, Peter Connally, Avi Jerath, Matthew Li, Bennet Peterson, Derek Patton, and Christopher Zhou, and William Jones College Preparatory High School students Nico Attlan, Ian Karas, Charlie Kulwin, and Aadi Rao, won the City championship in boys golf; and
- WHEREAS, Whitney M. Young Magnet High School students Brooke Broderick, Ariya Chang, Autumn DeBonnett, Meilin Hoshino, Shelby Jacobson, Isabella Rozwat, Madison Rozwat, and Meilin Hoshino won the City championship in girls golf for the first time in school history; and
- **WHEREAS**, Whitney Young students Jenna Stevens, Miracle Huckabee, Jayna Dunwoody, Bella Mendes-Robles, Aria Fifer, Sydney Koleno, Esohae Osaghae, and Celena Ho won the City championship in girls tennis; and
- WHEREAS, Walter Payton College Preparatory High School students Robert Cupps, Oliver Bruce, David McLone, Lucas Cozuc, Gabriel KAI Torres, Sam McIllrath, Theo Goldman, Alex Freehling, Blair Warren, Aidan Chung, Will Frank, Elijah Afrifa, Evan Rainville, Carlos Pichardo, Elliot Dickenson, Marcel Kubik, Nate Von der Sitt, Brit Rothstein, and Jacob Hansen won the City championship in boys soccer; and
- WHEREAS, Whitney Young students Sabrina Wong, Vickie Mancine, Nyla Williams, Ava Schabes, Sammi Yee, Sydni Poston, Jordan Walker, Maribella Espino, Jordan Rogers, Chelsea Thorpe, Kinsey Smith, Leah Kennedy, and Sarah Blyskal won the City championship in girls volleyball; and
- WHEREAS, Jones College Prep students Samuel Berlinghof, Ivan Chen, Dev Dassani, Matthew DeSantis, Spencer Dixon, Beck Edwards, John Fabrycky, Peter Flynn, Aidan Gill, Tyler Golod, Kyler Kitson, James Kochanski, Kai Lee, Alexander Leonard, Daniel Leonard, Robert Lewis, Esteban Medina, Alan Menninger, Samuel Mortensen, Andrew Nelson, Matthew Ostry, Alexander Papadopoulos, Jayden Reyes, Christopher Robles, Joseph Scalise, Benjamin Schwan, Andrew Soman Cwik, Khalin Soorya, Ethan Sterling, Cameron Toerne, Kenneth Varela, Henry Wallace, Kristopher White, Shammai Winitzer, and Yuma Yoshioka won the City championship in boys cross-country; and
- WHEREAS, Northside College Preparatory Academy students Zuzana Bielak, Alli Feeney, Amanda Firestone, Nora Hill, Arianna Holbrook, Adamaris Mata, Tessa Myatt, Annika Nelson, Ella Schieleit, Katelyn Suh, Elia Ton-That, Lulu Ton-That, Sofia Weber, and Rachel Yosowitz won the City championship in girls cross-country; and
- WHEREAS, Kenwood Academy students Maxwell Anderson, Terrence Bell, Folahami Bodunrin, Quinton Bond, Kendall Brown, Kylee Coleman, Oba El, Kenyata Forbes, Taylen Goodwin, Mako Grant, Mario Grayer, Quinton Green, Marvin Greene, Jared Gwin, Jamontae Harris, Davon Henison, Lucien Henson, Demetrious Jackson, Davonte Johnson, Tyson Johnson, Logan Lester, Omarion Lewis, Marquise Lightfoot, Jalil Martin, Elijah Matthews, Bjourn Mayes, NaCari McFarland, Delawrence Mcghee, Shauntrel Meeks-Scott, De'Ante Moore, Ivan Moore, Victor Moore, Akil Muhammad, Kanye

Nesbit, Jeffrey Newing, Diego Oliver, Lachard Reasnover, Jaiden Redmond, Deandre Sisson, Jaylen Smith, Khalil Tate, K'Vion Thunderbird, Kevin Thunderbird, Charles Tinzie, Kyle Trotter, Maurice Vance, Jr., Michael Walton, and Amonte' Williams won the City championship in boys football for the first time in school history; and

WHEREAS, Back of the Yards College Preparatory High Schools students Juritmi Rubio, Melanie Espin, Lily Lemus, Emily Perez, Brenda Macias, Emily Moron, Diamond Gallardo, Roxy Herrera, Karen Campos, Damyah Triplett, Nysiara Roby, Cristal Sotelo, Jennifer Rebollo-Miranda, Araceli Garcia, Alayla Granville, Vanesa Vega Zamudio, and Adriana Varela won the first ever City championship awarded in girls flag football; and

WHEREAS, Lane Technical College Preparatory High School students Jannie Esperon, Emma Goldstein, Sofie Gottschall, Ella Grzeca, Erika Guillermo, Olivia Hamm-Hyppolite, Keira Hickey, Emery Himes, Lesly Junes, Tara Keating, Delaney Kirk, Alicia Lendway, Nina Levites, Kara Liss, Meghan Mansfield, Harper Mollett, Abbey Noback, Val Nunez, Nora O'Connell, Martha Palmentera-Reid, Susan Palmentera-Reid, Morgan Rummelhoff, Kelly Sheridan, Chloe Symons, Anastazja Szukala, Megan Woelfl, Madeleine Zehr, Emilie Chin, Grayson Fox, Marina Spera, and Mia Venice won the City championship in girls swimming and diving; and

WHEREAS, Walter Payton students Karl Barnickol, Finn Buda, Cameron Cote, Bridget Cozzi, Alexa Da Silva, Gabriel Essex, Benecio Ferrer, Will Geiger, Charles Harmening, Joe Heidkamp, Luke Hilgart, Zachary Janes, Jack Kendrick, Jaiden Lulla, Connor Murray, Jonah Pfeifer, Ian Sheridan, Richard Taing, Aza Venzke-Kitia. Nathan Verschurr, Julian Villegas, Gavin Weaver, and George Woodson won the City championship in 16-inch softball; and

WHEREAS, The Members of this Chamber are pleased to congratulate all of the members of these Chicago Public Schools teams on their well-earned City championship titles; now, therefore,

BEIT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled here this fifteenth day of December, 2021, do hereby applaud and congratulate all of these Chicago Public School students on their championship performances; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary Chicago Public School students as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a bright and prosperous future.