

City of Chicago



R2022-816

Office of the City Clerk

Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date:

7/20/2022

Sponsor(s):

Rodriguez (22)

Type:

Resolution

Title:

Congratulations extended to 2022 Chicago City Council Latino Caucus Foundation Scholarship recipients

Committee(s) Assignment:

RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2022 CHICAGO CITY COUNCIL LATINO CAUCUS FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

WHEREAS, The Chicago City Council Latino Caucus ("Latino Caucus") actively works to improve the quality of life for Latino families throughout Chicago by assuring their best interests are well represented in City of Chicago City Council; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Caucus is committed to the education and development of the next generation of Chicago leaders; and

WHEREAS, Financial barriers should never limit one's accessibility to education and achieving their dreams; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Caucus formed the Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation ("CLCF") to support the advancement of Latino youth through scholarship, internship, and mentorship opportunity; and

WHEREAS, In 2022, the CLCF awarded its sixth year of scholarships to forty-six (46) recipients, all who worked hard to achieve academic and professional success and deserve to be celebrated; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Latino Caucus would like to acknowledge each recipient of this prestigious scholarship and look forward to celebrating more of their future milestones; and, now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assemble on July 20, 2022, to hereby honor and congratulate the following 2022 Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation Scholarship recipients: Alondra Avalos, Amaryssa Garcia, Ambar Michelle Medrano Jimenez, Amy Villasenor, Andrea Luna, Andrew Mazariegos, Angeles Munoz, Angelica Mazon, Ariana Vazquez, Daniel Garcia, Deandra Molina, Dominique Coronel, Dulcemaria Rincon, Emily Reyes, Fatima Pena, Faviana Bazan, Fernanda Rios-Merodio, Gabriel Martinez, Genesis Araujo, George Ortega, Geovany Arias, Jailene Sanchez, Jasmin Luna, Jorge Gutierrez, Jorge Velasquez, Julio Ramirez, Justina Ibarra, Kelly Hernandez, Kevin Medina, Liliana Matias, Lily Barrios, Maria Mancero, Miranda Garcia, Monica J. Padilla, Natividad Perez, Nicol Morales, Nicole Castro, Pahola Mercedes Nova, Paola Delgado, Rafael Cruz, Rafael Munoz, Rafael Perez Jr., Roberto Lopez, Teresa Moreno, Zarelly Teresita Rodriguez, Zoe Baert; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this Resolution be presented to each of these exemplary scholarship recipients as a token of our respect, gratitude, and best wishes for their bright and prosperous future.

MICHAEL D. RODRIGUEZ Alderman, 22nd Ward