

City of Chicago



O2022-2470

Office of the City Clerk

Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date:

7/20/2022

Sponsor(s):

O'Shea (19) Hopkins (2) Dowell (3) King (4) Sawyer (6)

Beale (9)

Sadlowski Garza (10)

Lee (11)

Cardenas (12)
Quinn (13)
Burke (14)
Lopez (15)
Coleman (16)

Curtis (18)
Taylor (20)
Brookins (21)

Rodriguez (22) Tabares (23) Burnett (27)

Ervin (28) Reboyras (30) Cardona, Jr. (31)

Waguespack (32)

Austin (34) Villegas (36) Mitts (37) Sposato (38) Nugent (39)

Vasquez, Jr. (40)

Reilly (42) Gardiner (45) Cappleman (46) Osterman (48) Hadden (49) Silverstein (50)

Rodriguez Sanchez (33)

Martin (47) Ordinance

Type:

Title: Ame

Amendment of Municipal Code Chapter 2-84 by adding new Section 2-84-085 regarding hours and days of rest for sworn members of Chicago Police Department

Committee(s) Assignment:

Committee on Workforce Development

ORDINANCE

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO:

SECTION 1. Chapter 2-84 of the Municipal Code of the City of Chicago is hereby amended by inserting a new Section 2-84-085, as follows:

2-84-085 Hours and Days of Rest.

The Chicago Police Department shall allow each sworn member at least twenty-four consecutive hours of rest, in addition to the regular period of rest allowed at the end of such officer's assigned shift: (i) for every consecutive 60-hour period the member works; and (ii) if the member does not receive at least twenty-four consecutive hours of rest otherwise, at least every calendar week. This Section does not prohibit a sworn officer from voluntarily agreeing to work on such day of rest required by this Section if the worker is compensated at the applicable overtime rate for all hours worked on such day of rest. The provisions of this section shall not apply during a declared disaster, subject to City Council approval for any such disaster that exceeds seven days, in accordance with the powers granted to the Mayor under the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act (20 ILCS 3305/11).

SECTION 2. This ordinance shall take effect upon passage and publication.

MATTHEW J. O'SHEA Alderman, 19th Ward The following legislation is being introduced by Click or tap here to enter text.regarding Click or tap here to enter text.co-sponsored by

	George Cardenas
Alderman Ward 1	Alderman Ward 12
Brian Hopkins	Marty Quinn
Alderman Ward 2	Alderman Ward 13
Pat Dowell	Edward M. Burke
Alderman Ward 3	Alderman Ward 14
Sophia King	Raymond Lopez
Alderman Ward 4	Alderman Ward 15
	Stephanie D. Coleman
Alderman Ward 5	Alderman Ward 16
Roderick Sawyer	
Alderman Ward 6	Alderman Ward 17
	Derrick Curtis
Alderman Ward 7	Alderman Ward 18
	Matthew J. O'Shea
Alderman Ward 8	Alderman Ward 19
Anthony Beale	Jeanette Taylor
Alderman Ward 9	Alderman Ward 20
Susan Sadlowski Garza	Howard Brookins, Jr.
Alderman Ward 10	Alderman Ward 21
Nicole Lee	Michael D. Rodriguez
Alderman Ward 11	Alderman Ward 22

The following legislation is being introduced by Click or tap here to enter text.regarding Click or tap here to enter text.co-sponsored by

Silvana Tabares	Carrie Austin
Alderman Ward 23	Alderman Ward 34
Alderman Ward 24	Alderman Ward 35
	Gilbert Villegas
Alderman Ward 25	Alderman Ward 36
	Emma Mitts
Alderman Ward 26	Alderman Ward 37
Walter Burnett	Nick Sposato
Alderman Ward 27	Alderman Ward 38
Jason Ervin	Samantha Nugent
Alderman Ward 28	Alderman Ward 39
	Andre Vasquez
Alderman Ward 29	Alderman Ward 40
Ariel Reboyras	
Alderman Ward 30	Alderman Ward 41
Felix Cardona, Jr.	Brendan Reilly
Alderman Ward 31	Alderman Ward 42
Scott Waguespack	
Alderman Ward 32	Alderman Ward 43
Alderman Ward 33	Alderman Ward 44

The following legislation is being introduced by Click or tap here to enter text.regarding Click or tap here to enter text.co-sponsored by

James M. Gardiner	
Alderman Ward 45	Mayor Lightfoot
James Cappleman	
Alderman Ward 46	Clerk Valencia
Mat and	
Alderman Ward 47	
Harry Osterman	
Alderman Ward 48	
Maria Hadden	
Alderman Ward 49	
Debra Silverstein	
Alderman Ward 50	