

City of Chicago



R2018-359

Office of the City Clerk

Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date: 4/18/2018

Sponsor(s): Lopez (15)

Type: Resolution

Title: Gratitude extended to Local School Council members from

Gage Park High School for support of Chicago Public

Schools

Committee(s) Assignment:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Local School Councils (LSC) is a partnership between parents, community members, and school staff members helping support Chicago Public Schools (CPS); and,

WHEREAS, During the Chicago Public Schools' financial crisis in 1979, the Chicago Education Summit formed LSC with the passing of the Chicago School Reform Act to provide financial accountability for CPS; and,

WHEREAS, In October 1989, the first LSC elections took place and 6,000 elected members created the LSC boards all across the City of Chicago; and,

WHEREAS, Today, LSC boards continue to pursue the best education for their students by approving school funding and resources, developing and maintaining Chicago's annual School Improvements plans, and seeking the highest standards of excellence from school principals; and,

WHEREAS, Each member leaves a positive impact on CPS by encouraging student achievement inside and outside the classroom; and,

WHEREAS, Dedicated parent, community member, and school staff member participation is a critical part of LSC success and strength; and,

WHEREAS, We applaud Gage Park High School LSC members Blake Dunphy, Kimberly Lawrence, Janely Alcantar, Jenelle Danmar Harris, and Principal Tamika Ball; and,

WHEREAS, We acknowledge these volunteers who dedicate their precious time to the success of Chicago's students; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and members of the City Council of the City of Chicago gathered here on the eighteenth day of April, 2018, do hereby applaud the diligent members of the Local School Councils (LSC) and thank them for their commitment to Chicago's students; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be prepared and presented to each of our dedicated LSC members.

Maymond A. Lopez Alderman, 15th Ward