

## City of Chicago



R2018-690

#### Office of the City Clerk

### **Document Tracking Sheet**

**Meeting Date:** 6/27/2018

Sponsor(s): Emanuel (Mayor)

Laurino (39) Mell (33)

King (4)

Villegas (36) Brookins (21) Munoz (22)

Desclution

Type: Resolution

Title: Congratulations extended to Golden Apple Award winning

educators

**Committee(s) Assignment:** 



## OFFICE OF THE MAYOR CITY OF CHICAGO

RAHM EMANUEL
MAYOR

June 27, 2018

## TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

#### Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith, together with Aldermen Laurino, Mell, Hairston, King, Villegas, Brookins and Munoz, a congratulatory resolution concerning the 2018 Golden Apple Award winners.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Very truly yours,

Mayor

## A resolution

# adopted by The City Council of the City of Chicago, Illinois



Aldermen Margaret Laurino, Deborah L. Mell, Leslie A. Hairston,
Sophia D. King, Gilbert Villegas, Howard Brookins, Jr., Ricardo Munoz,
and Mayor Rahm Emanuel
June 27, 2018

Presented by .

Whereas. The Golden Apple Foundation has conferred its prestigious 2018 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching on four Chicago teachers and bestowed its 2018 Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award on two Chicago principals in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments as educators; and

WHEREAS, A not-for-profit organization based in Chicago, the Golden Apple Foundation advances the profession of teaching by recognizing excellent educators; by recruiting and preparing talented high school students to be teachers through innovative training programs; and by improving the skills of current teachers through professional development; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to its founding proposition that "all students deserve excellent teachers," the Golden Apple Foundation has recognized exceptional teachers in the Chicago area each year since 1986; and

WHEREAS. Chosen through a rigorous process by a volunteer committee of distinguished Chicago-area educators, this year's 10 recipients of the Golden Apple Award were chosen from over 650 nominees. This year's 30 finalists for the Award included the highest percentage of Chicago Public School teachers ever selected. All of these individuals are indeed worthy of recognition by their peers; and

WHEREAS, The Chicago recipients of the 2018 Golden Apple Award are third grade teacher Meghan Dolan, John M. Palmer Elementary School; pre-K teacher Heather Duncan, South Shore Fine Arts Academy; kindergarten teacher Daneal Silvers, Edison Regional Gifted Center, and second grade bilingual teacher Anita Unzueta, Little Village Academy; and

WHEREAS, The two recipients of the 2018 Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award are Principal Gregory Jones, Kenwood Academy High School; and Principal Stacy Stewart, Belmont-Cragin Elementary School; and



WHEREAS, Each Golden Apple Award recipient receives a tuition-free, spring quarter sabbatical to study at Northwestern University, as well as a \$5,000.00 honorarium. Perhaps most importantly, Golden Apple teachers become Fellows of the Golden Apple Academy of Educators, giving them a stronger voice and a larger stage from which to make a difference in education, through ongoing professional development and engagement in education reform, such as the mentoring of future teachers through the Golden Apple Scholars of Illinois program; and

WHEREAS, Each Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award recipient receives a \$10,000.00 honorarium, with \$5,000.00 to be used for a school project of the recipient's choosing and \$5,000.00 to be used for personal professional development; and

WHEREAS, Because our children are our future, no one is more deserving of our admiration and respect than these extraordinary teachers and principals, who give generously of themselves each day to educate and inspire our children; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this twenty-seventh day of June, 2018, do hereby applaud this year's recipients of the 2018 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching and 2018 Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award, and welcome their future contributions to the Golden Apple Academy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESCLVED. That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to 2018 Golden Apple Award recipients Meghan Dolan, Heather Duncan, Daned Silvers, and Anita Unzueta, and to 2018 Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award recipients Gregory Jones and Stacy Steward, as a token of our esteem and good wishes.

MAYOR

CITY CLERK