

City of Chicago



R2020-614

Office of the City Clerk

Document Tracking Sheet

Meeting Date:

9/9/2020

Sponsor(s):

Villegas (36)

Type:

Resolution

Title:

Congratulations extended to Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation 2020 Scholarship Recipients.

Committee(s) Assignment:

RESOLUTION HONORING 2020 RECIPIENTS OF CHICAGO LATINO CAUCUS FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP

WHEREAS, The Chicago City Council Latino Caucus strives to improve the quality of life for Latino families in the City of Chicago, by assuring that the Latino community's best interests are represented in City Council; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Caucus greatly focuses on the importance of education in the Latino community, and it is committed to develop the next generation of leaders in Chicago by promoting higher education; and

WHEREAS, Income should never limit one's education, hopes or dreams; and,

WHEREAS, The Chicago City Council Latino Caucus formed the Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation to support the advancement of Latino Youth through scholarship, internship and mentorship opportunities; and

WHEREAS, In 2020, the Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation awarded its fourth round of scholarships to 22 recipients, who worked hard to achieve great success academically and professionally and deserve to be celebrated accordingly; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Latino Caucus would like to celebrate every recipient of this prestigious scholarship and remind him or her that all of Chicago is proud of their hard work and is looking forward to sharing their bright future; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled on this ninth day of September, 2020 do hereby congratulate the following youth, named the 2020 Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation Scholars: Kimberly Acosta, Juliette Aquirre, Antonio Aranda, Geovany Arias, Edgar Castillo, Nicole Castro, Wilfredo A. Colon, III, Melany Corona, Paola Duarte, Mirel Gallegos Rodriguez, Catherine Galvan, Kevin Gonzalez-Basilio, Samantha Lucio, Daniela Luna, Jacquelene Matos, Reyna Moreno, Jhoana Ocampo, Fatima Pena, Emily Pereznegron, Jessenia Prado, Diana Salinas-Murillo, and Anayse Soto; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary students as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a bright and prosperous future.

GILBERT VILLEGAS Alderman, 36th Ward