

### Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

#### Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: R2013-620

Type: Resolution Status: Adopted

File created: 6/26/2013 In control: City Council

**Final action:** 6/26/2013

Title: Congratulations extended to recipients of Golden Apple Award (2013)

**Sponsors:** Emanuel, Rahm

Indexes: COMMENDATIONS & DECLARATIONS

Attachments: 1. R2013-620.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/26/2013	1	City Council	Adopted	Pass
6/26/2013	1	City Council	Rules Suspended - Immediate	

## H resolution

# adopud by 7)ie (9ity Qouncil of Qity of Qhicago, Illinois

presented by MAYOR RAHM EMANUEL

JUNE 26, 2013

^QIIBfBCIS . The Golden Apple Foundation has conferred its prestigious 2013 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching on ten high school teachers in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments as educators; and

WHEREAS, A not-for-profit organization based in Chicago, the Golden Apple Foundation advances the profession of teaching by recognizing excellent educators; by recruiting and preparing talented high school students and college graduates to be teachers through innovative training programs; and by improving the skills of current teachers through professional development; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to transforming teachers and teaching and elevating student performance, the Golden Apple Foundation has recognized exceptional teachers in the Chicago area each year since 1986; and

WHEREAS, Chosen through a rigorous process by a volunteer committee of distinguished Chicago-area educators, this year's recipients of the Golden Apple Award were selected from a pool of 510 highly qualified high school teachers from throughout the Chicago metropolitan area; and

WHEREAS, The recipients of the 2013 Golden Apple Award are Kevin Carroll (Joliet West High School, Joliet); Elizabeth Copper (Lindblom Math & Science Academy, Chicago); Katherine Dube (TEAM Englewood Community Academy, Chicago); Linda Egnatz, NBCT (Lincoln-Way North High School, Frankfort); Curt Ehrenstrom (Mount Carmel High School, Chicago); Scott Galson, NBCT (Walter Payton College Prep High School, Chicago); John Kretsos, NBCT (Niles North High School, Skokie); Jill Krysinski (Bloom High School, Chicago Heights); John Paulett (Fenwick High School, Oak Park); and Gregory Regalado (Maine West High School, Des Plaines; and

WHEREAS, Each Golden Apple Award recipient receives a tuition-free, spring quarter sabbatical to study at Northwestern University. Each recipient also receives a \$3,000 cash award. Perhaps most importantly, Golden Apple teachers become Fellows of the Golden Apple Academy of Educators, providing a stronger voice and larger stage from which to make an impact on education, through ongoing professional development and engagement in education reform, such as the mentoring of future teachers through the Golden Apple Scholars of Illinois program; and

WHEREAS, The recipients of the 2013 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching will be honored at a black-tie event on October 25, 2013 at WTTW/Channel 11 Studios in Chicago. WTTW will also broadcast the awards in a one-hour television program following the event; and

WHEREAS, Each recipient of the 2013 Golden Apple Award achieved outstanding results with students, motivated them to learn, and equipped them with the values and skills they need to reach their full potential and to succeed in our rapidly changing society; and

WHEREAS, Because our children are our future, no one is more deserving of our admiration and respect than these extraordinary teachers, who give generously of themselves each day to educate and inspire our children; now, therefore.

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this twenty-sixth day of June, 2013, do hereby applaud this year's recipients of the Golden Apple Award for their impressive dedication to teaching, the most noble of professions, and welcome their future contributions to the Golden Apple

File #: R2013-620, Version: 1

Academy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the 2013 Golden Apple Award recipients Kevin Carroll, Elizabeth Copper, Katherine Dube, Linda Egnatz, Curt Ehrenstrom, Scott Galson, John Kretsos, Jill Krysinski, John Paulett, and Gregory Regalado as a token of our esteem and good wishes.

**MAYOR** 

**CITY CLERK** 

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR
CITY OF CHICAGO

RAHM EMANUEL MAYOR

June 26, 2013

### TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith a congratulatory resolution concerning the Golden Apple Award -Winning Teachers.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Mayor

Very truly yours,