

File created:

Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: R2016-62

Type: Resolution Status: Adopted

Final action: 1/13/2016

City Council

Title: Congratulations extended to Wendell Phillips Academy High School football team on Class 4A

In control:

championship

Sponsors: Emanuel, Rahm, Dowell, Pat

1/13/2016

Indexes: COMMENDATIONS & DECLARATIONS

Attachments: 1. R2016-62.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/13/2016	1	City Council	Rules Suspended - Immediate Consideration	
1/13/2016		City Council	Adopted	Pass

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

CITY OF CHICAGO

RAHM EMANUEL MAYOR

January 13, 2016

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith, together with Alderman Dowell, a congratulatory resolution concerning the Phillips High School football team.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Mayor

Very truly yours,

adopted by C\q Qity GoUHcil of Ae Qity of Gkicago, Illinois

ALDERMAN PAT DOWELL resented by MAYOR RAHM EMANUEL

^QhsteCiS • The Wendell Phillips Academy High School football team, known as the "Wildcats," won the Class 4A championship on November 27, 2015. In so doing, Phillips Academy became the first Chicago Public High School to win a football title since the current system of crowning champions began back in 1974 by the Illinois High School Association (IHSA); and

WHEREAS, Until now, only three Chicago public high schools had reached the IHSA football championship game in the last 30 years, and no Chicago public high school had won the title; and

WHEREAS, Wendell Phillips Academy was undefeated going into the 4A championship game against Althoff Catholic of Belleville at Northern Illinois University's Huskie Stadium in DeKalb; and

WHEREAS, Althoff Catholic, which was 13 and 1, took an early lead of 7 to 0 in the game before Wendell Phillips Academy took control. The final score was Wendell Phillips Academy 51 and Althoff Catholic 7; and

WHEREAS, Quarterback Quayvon Skanes played an outstanding game for Wendell Phillips, rushing for 141 yards on 13 carries, scoring four touchdowns. He also passed for 44 yards and threw one touchdown pass; and

WHEREAS, Among the other outstanding players for Phillips were Kamari Mosby, who accumulated 151 yards and scored a touchdown, and Amir Watts, who had three sacks and 5.5 tackles for losses as well as a 19-yard fumble return for a touchdown; and

WHEREAS, The Phillips Academy football roster includes 19 seniors, all of whom are on track to graduate, with some being recruited to play football at the collegiate level. Amani Jones has committed to the University of Iowa, Quarterback and Wide Receiver Quayvon Skanes has committed to the University of Connecticut and Defensive End Amir Watts is currently being recruited by several schools; and

WHEREAS, Located in Chicago's Bronzeville neighborhood at 244 East Pershing Road, Wendell Phillips Academy was founded in 1904 and is named in honor of the 19th century abolitionist Wendell Phillips of Massachusetts. Phillips Academy counts among its past students, Sam Cooke, Gwendolyn Brooks and Nat King Cole; and

WHEREAS, All of Chicago is proud of Wendell Phillips Academy for its outstanding football team and commitment to academic excellence. We are pleased to learn that 100 percent of Phillips seniors were accepted to college and granted more than 5 million dollars in scholarships; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this thirteenth day of January, 2016, do hereby congratulate the Wendell Phillips Academy football team for winning the Class 4A high school football championship: Thierno Addaro; Chris Annison; Antwoin Bailey; Jaiquon Banks; Jermaine Broadnax; Adisen Broughton; Malik Brown; Roderick Clay; Anthony Davis; Jamar Elerby; Chris Elmore; Craig Elmore; Malcolm Fox; Donald Gardner; J'Bore Gibbs; Kahdaffie Green; Imori Heard; Deandre Johnson; Kentrell Johnson; Amani Jones; Devin Jones; Terrell Jones; Daurice Lee; Courtney Mables; Chris Mabry; Fabian McCray; Kamari Mosby; David Munson; Xavier Nash; Tobias Nellum; Isaac Osei; Richard Price; Kenneth Sanders; Quayvon Skanes; Chris Stephens; Raiken Strong; Joseph Thompson; Gabriel Tyson; Greg Wallace; Dexter Warren; Kelvin Washington; Calvin Watkins; Amir Watts; Qadeer Weatherly; Artrez White; Marzeek Williams; and Darrell Willis. We also congratulate the Administrators and Coaches: Matthew Sullivan (Principal); Ronnie Bates (Assistant Principal); John Byrne (Athletic Director); Troy McAllister (Head Coach); Joe Winslow (Offensive Coordinator); Mike Barry (Offensive Line Coach); Karriem Muhammad (Offensive Assistant); Pat Jerome (Offensive Assistant); Mike Larson (Defensive Coordinator); Mike Mancini (Defensive Line Coach); and Jawon Powell (Linebackers and Special Teams); and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to Wendell Phillips Academy as a sign of our respect and good wishes for the school's continued excellence in academics and athletics.

File	#•	R2016-62	Version:	1

MAYOR

CITY CLERK