

File created:

Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: R2022-1183

11/16/2022

Type: Resolution Status: Adopted

Final action: 11/16/2022

Title: Congratulations extended to Sigma Gamma Rho sorority on 100th anniversary

Sponsors: Lightfoot, Lori E., Brookins, Jr., Howard, Mitts, Emma, Martin, Matthew J., Villegas, Gilbert, Osterman,

In control:

Harry, Hadden, Maria E., Scott, Monique L., Sigcho-Lopez, Byron, Rodriguez, Michael D., King, Sophia D., Vasquez, Jr., Andre, Tunney, Thomas, Cappleman, James, Nugent, Samantha, Ervin, Jason C., Moore, David H., Gardiner, James M., Sadlowski Garza, Susan, Waguespack, Scott, Lopez,

City Council

Raymond A., Dowell, Pat

Indexes: COMMENDATIONS & DECLARATIONS

Attachments: 1. R2022-1183.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/16/2022	1	City Council	Rules Suspended - Immediate Consideration	
11/16/2022	1	City Council	Adopted	Pass

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

CITY OF CHICAGO LORI E. LIGHTFOOT MAYOR

November 16, 2022

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit along with City Treasurer Melissa Conyears-Ervin and together with Aldermen Brookins, Mitts, Martin, Villegas, Osterman, Hadden, Scott, Sigcho-Lopez, Rodriguez, King, Vasquez, Tunney, Cappleman, Nugent, Ervin, Moore, Gardiner, Sadlowski-Garza, Waguespack, Dowell and Lopez, a resolution commemorating the 100lh Anniversary of Sigma Gamma Rho.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, In recognition of its service and appreciation of its positive community outreach, the Members of this Chamber are pleased to congratulate the Sigma Gamma Rho sorority, on the occasion of its 100th anniversary this November, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Sigma Gamma Rho was established on November 12, 1922 by seven young Black women educators at Butler University in Indiana; and

WHEREAS, The sorority was founded in a culture adverse to its goals, just two years after the Bill of Rights was amended to give women the right to vote and in the same year that a Klan Klonvocation was also held in Indiana; and

WHEREAS, Sigma Gamma Rho is the only National Pan-Hellenic Council sorority founded at a predominantly white institution; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, the Sigma Gamma Rho sorority has focused on uplifting the community through sisterhood, leadership, and service, including through programs designed to address maternal and infant outcomes for Black women and helping young women grow into well-rounded students and productive citizens; and

WHEREAS, Sigma Gamma Rho currently has over 500 chapters in the U.S., Bahamas, Bermuda, the Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, South Korea and the United Arab Emirates; and

WHEREAS, Notable Chicago alumnae of the sorority include Congresswoman Robin Kelly, State Representative Debbie Meyers-Martin, Treasurer Melissa Conyers-Ervin, Chicago Deputy Chief of Police Senora Ben, Chicago Police Department Commander Davina Ward, and Coach Tonya Edwards of the Chicago Sky, among others; and

WHEREAS, Other Sigma Gamma Rho alumnae include Hattie McDaniel, the first African American to win an Oscar, Mary T. Washington Wylie, the first Black woman CPA, and Haley Taylor Schlitz, the youngest Black American to earn a law degree, among many others; and

WHEREAS, With "Greater Service, Greater Progress" as its motto, the Sigma Gamma Rho sorority has been a beacon of light for all women for the past 100 years; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this sixteenth day of November 2022, do hereby congratulate the Sigma Gamma Rho sorority on the occasion of its Centennial Celebration; express to it our heartfelt gratitude for its exemplary service to women across the world; and extend to it our best wishes for continued growth and success; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to the Sigma Gamma Rho sorority as a sign of our appreciation and esteem.

Lori E. Lightfoot Mayor of Chicago Melissa Conyears-Ervin Treasurer of Chicago