

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	SO2011-30				
Туре:	Ordinance		Status:	Passed	
File created:	1/13/2011		In control:	City Council	
			Final action:	2/9/2011	
Title:	Amendment of Municipal Code Section 2-120-380 by modifying membership and composition of Chicago Plan Commission				
Sponsors:	Laurino, Margaret				
Indexes:	Ch. 120 Commissioners & Commissions				
Attachments:	1. O2011-30.pdf, 2. SO2011-30.pdf				
Date	Ver.	Action By	Ac	tion	Result
2/9/2011	1	City Council	Pa	assed	Pass
2/7/2011	1	Committee on Finance	Re	ecommended to Pass	Pass
1/13/2011	1	City Council	Re	eferred	
	-				

SUBSTITUTE

ORDINANCE

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO:

SECTION 1. Section 2-120-380 of the Municipal Code of Chicago is hereby amended by deleting the language stricken through and by inserting the language underscored, as follows:

2-120-380 Membership, organization and meetings.

The Chicago plan commission shall be composed of 2-2- 23 members: nine members who are lay citizens, to be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the city council, and ex officio the mayor, the president of the board of local improvements, the commissioner of housing and economic development, the zoning administrator, the commissioner of transportation, the chairman of the city council committee on buildings, the chairman of the city council committee on zoning, the chairman of the city council committee on housing, the chairman of the city council committee on traffic control and safety, the chairman of the city council committee on traffic council committee on economic, capital and technology development, the general superintendent and chief executive officer of the Chicago Park District and the chairman of the appointed members. The appointed members shall hold no other public office except where such public office is nonsalaried and no fees or emoluments are derived therefrom.

The nine appointed members shall be appointed and hold office as follows: one to be appointed for one year, two for two years, two for three years, two for four years and two for five years and until their successors are appointed and qualified. Members thereafter appointed shall serve for five years, except that in case of vacancy appointments shall be made for the unexpired term. The terms of the ex officio members shall coincide with their terms of public office.

The commission shall meet at least once a month. At least three days notice of the time and place of each meeting shall be given by the chairman. Six members shall constitute a quorum of the commission, but at least five affirmative votes constituting a majority of those voting on the matter shall be required to pass any matter. SECTION 2. This ordinance shall be in full force and effect upon its passage and publication.