

Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: R2011-426

Type: Resolution Status: Adopted

File created: 4/13/2011 In control: City Council

Final action: 4/13/2011

Title: Congratulations extended to Whitney M. Young Magnet High School

Sponsors: Daley, Richard M.

Indexes: COMMENDATIONS & DECLARATIONS

Attachments: 1. R2011-426.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/13/2011	1	City Council	Adopted	
4/13/2011	1	City Council	Rules Suspended - Immediate Consideration	

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

CITY OF CHICAGO

RICHARD M. DALEY

MAYOR

April 13,2011

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith a congratulatory resolution concerning Whitney M. Young Magnet High School's first-place finish in the Illinois High School Association's chess tournament.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

i

M resolution

adopted by ^Tie Gltlj QoUHCll

ofthe Qity of Qhicago, Illinois

resented by MAYOR RICHARD M. DALEY on

APRIL 13, 2011

BfCCIS > Since its establishment in 1975, Whitney M. Young Magnet High School, renowned for its outstanding academic achievements, strong sports and extracurricular activities, consistently has ranked among the top high schools in the Nation and has earned

numerous awards and accolades; and

WHEREAS, Every year the Illinois High School Association (IHSA), a not-for-profit organization of more than 750 public and private high schools, holds statewide interscholastic competitions in 13 sports, as well as seven non-athletic activities, including a chess competition; and

WHEREAS, This year's IHSA chess tournament, held over two days in Peoria in February, included teams from 128 high schools from throughout the State, and comprised seven rounds with players competing at eight boards, with some games lasting more than two hours; and

WHEREAS, On February 13,2011, Whitney Young's Chess Team accomplished their long-sought-after goal to win the IHSA Chess Championship, the first time a Chicago public school won the tournament since 1988; and

WHEREAS, During the seven-round tournament, three members of Whitney Young's Chess Team went undefeated, and in a thrilling match in the final round, Whitney Young defeated Niles North High School, when team member Sam Schmakel won the game with only five seconds remaining to secure victory for his team; and

WHEREAS, After four years of hard work and dedication, team leader Michael Auger, along with his fellow seniors, stood with their teammates to accept the championship trophy; and

ft-

WHEREAS, Whitney Young's victorious chess team members included Sam Schmakel, the highest-rated freshman player in the State and the 2010 United States Chess Federation's 9th grade national champion; Charles Swan, Jr., the highest-ranked sophomore player in the State; Michael Auger, a senior; Kessidy Chan and Donovan Harris, both seniors and Top 8 players during their four years at Whitney Young; Cristian Pena and Brian Mei, both juniors; Mark Waechter, Adrian Mui and Ga Luang Liu, sophomores; and Phuc Hoang and Simon Chen, both freshmen; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the coaching of Paul Kash and Assistant Coach Charles Swan, Sr., for the past four years the team has been taught by national chess master William Aramil; and

WHEREAS, All of Chicago is proud of Whitney Young High School's Chess Team, and their coaches, teachers, and administrators, whose knowledge, dedication File #: R2011-426, Version: 1

and commitment helped to make the 2010-2011 season a "year to remember" for all of the students; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this thirteenth day of April, 2011, do hereby congratulate and extend our best wishes for continued success to Principal Dr. Joyce Kenner; Coach Paul Kash; Assistant Coaches, William Aramil and Charles Swan, Sr.; team members Sam Schmakel, Michael Auger, Charles Swan, Jr., Kessidy Chan, Donovan Harris, Mark Waechter, Cristian Pena, Brian Mei, Adrian Mui, Ga Luang Liu, Phuc Hoang, and Simon Chen on their historic first-place win in the 2011 IHSA Chess Championship; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the foregoing individuals as a sign of our honor and respect.