

Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

Legislation Text

File #: R2014-363, Version: 1

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR
CITY OF CHICAGO

RAHM EMANUEL MAYOR

May 28,2014

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith, together with Alderman Thomas, a congratulatory resolution concerning JROTC.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Mayor

Very truly yours,

H resolution adopud by Tlie Gity Qouncil of

the Qity of Qkicago, Illinois

ALDERMAN LATASHA R. THOMAS

presented by MAYOR RAHM EMANUEL

_{0M} MAY 28,

<u>2014</u>

QXQCtS ' The Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps (Junior ROTC) is a program sponsored by the United States Armed Services in high schools across the country to train high school students in leadership, character education and military sciences; and

WHEREAS, The focus of Junior ROTC is reflected in the program's mission statement: "To motivate young people to be better citizens;" and

WHEREAS, Chicago Public School students who participate in Junior ROTC learn the value of citizenship, service to the community and personal responsibility through a challenging educational curriculum, which is designed to prepare them for leadership in their community, to instill in them self-discipline, self-esteem and a sense of accomplishment, and to foster in them an awareness of their rights, responsibilities and privileges as American citizens; and

WHEREAS, One of the greatest distinctions that a Junior ROTC cadet can achieve is to serve as commander of their school's Junior ROTC unit. The forty-five Junior ROTC Unit Commanders, under the guidance of the City Corps Commander, are responsible for leading their school's respective Junior ROTC program. They are chosen for this prestigious leadership role based on their exemplary personal conduct, the leadership example that they set for younger students, their academic achievements, and their commitment to their communities; and

WHEREAS, This year, eleven extraordinarily qualified Junior ROTC cadets from Chicago Public High Schools have earned prestigious four-year ROTC scholarships or appointments to some of our Nation's elite service academies; and

WHEREAS, All of these outstanding individuals embody and have worked hard to promote the principles and standards of Junior ROTC. Each of them is the pride of Chicago; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this twenty-eighth day of May, 2014, do hereby extend our

congratulations to the following Chicago Public School cadets on their service as commander of their Junior ROTC units for the 2013-2014 school year, and to those cadets who received coveted appointments to national military service academies, and to those cadets who earned four-year ROTC scholarships to pursue their college education and commission as officers in the service of the United States of America: Juan Alcantar, Lake View High School; Milan Bhatt, William Howard Taft High School; Raekwon Boiling, Harlan Community Academy High School: Ivonne Casas, Lane Technical College Preparatory High School; Kamilia Dillard, W. R. Harper High School; Armando Estrada, Prosser Career Academy High School; Ajla Fakic, Roger C. Sullivan High School; Jamie Flores, Curie Metropolitan High School; Ronald Flowers, Air Force Academy High School; Dae'Mia Franklin, Tilden Career Community Academy High School; Brandon Green, Wendell Phillips Academy High School; Justin Grissett, Morgan Park High School; Timothy Harvey, Frederick Douglass Academy High School; Angel Hollingsworth, Chicago Vocational Career Academy High School; Adriana Hurtado, Farragut Career Academy High School; Alexandria Janopoulos, Air Force Academy High School; Davuan Jordan, Dunbar Vocational Career Academy High School; Mario Joseph, TEAM Englewood Community Academy High School; Chanel Khammarath, John Marshall Metropolitan High School; David Lopez, Gage Park High School; Gabriel Martinez, George Westinghouse College Preparatory High School; Phyliss McElroy, Hirsch Metropolitan High School; Eric McMiller, Lane Technical College Preparatory High School; Destiny Miranda, Steinmetz College Preparatory High School; Oscar Moreno, Carver Military Academy High School; Isai Oliveras, Rickover Naval Academy High School; Jarrell Patterson, Christian Fenger Academy High School; Steven Pohl, William Howard Taft High School; Shelley Ramos, George Westinghouse College Preparatory High School; Chassidy Rice, Edwin G. Foreman High School; Marquita Riley, Manley Career Academy High School; Jourdan Roberson, Marine Math & Science Academy; Sinai Robledo.

Carl Schurz High School; Alexander Rodriguez, Kelvyn Park High School; Ashley Roman, Roberto Clemente Community Academy High School; Yair Roman, Lincoln Park High School; Malik Sanders, Harlan Community Academy High School; Marisol Soto, Lincoln Park High School; Kathleen Tinoco, Theodore Roosevelt High School; Amanda Valencia, Hubbard High School; Sasha VanAllen, South Shore International College Preparatory High School; Adrian Vazquez, Benito Juarez Community Academy; Jessica Velez, Nicholas Senn High School; Marquez Watson, Hyde Park Academy High School; Nativia Williams, Hyde Park Academy High School; Glenda Williamson, George H. Corliss High School; Brandon Wilson, Chicago Military Academy at Bronzeville; Donaldo Zepeda, Bowen High School; and Lupita Zoquiapa, Spry Community Links High School; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary Chicago Public High School students as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a bright and prosperous future.

File #: R2014-363, Version: 1