

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

### Legislation Text

#### File #: R2015-438, Version: 1

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR CITY OF CHICAGO

RAHM EMANUEL MAYOR

May 20, 2015

### TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith a congratulatory resolution regarding CPS Junior ROTC Cadets and scholarship awardees.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Mayor

Very truly yours,

# H resolution

### adopted by Tilt? Gity QoUHCll

## Gity of Gkicago, Illinois

MAY 20, 2015

VvrlWfiWfS ' <sup>Tne</sup> Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps (Junior ROTC) is a program sponsored by the United States Armed Services in high schools across the country to train high school students in leadership, character education and military sciences; and

WHEREAS, The focus of Junior ROTC is reflected in the program's mission statement: "To motivate young people to be better citizens;" and

WHEREAS, Chicago Public School students who participate in Junior ROTC learn the value of citizenship, service to the community and personal responsibility through a challenging educational curriculum, which is designed to prepare them for leadership in their community, to instill in them self-discipline, self-esteem and a sense of accomplishment, and to foster in them an awareness of their rights, responsibilities and privileges as American citizens; and

WHEREAS, One of the greatest distinctions that a Junior ROTC cadet can achieve is to serve as commander of their school's Junior ROTC unit. The forty-three Junior ROTC Unit Commanders, under the guidance of the City Corps Commander, are responsible for leading their school's respective Junior ROTC program. They are chosen for this prestigious leadership role based on their exemplary personal conduct, the leadership example that they set for younger students, their academic achievements, and their commitment to their communities; and

WHEREAS, This year, nine extraordinarily qualified Junior ROTC cadets from Chicago Public High Schools have earned prestigious four-year ROTC scholarships or appointments to some of our Nation's elite service academies; and

WHEREAS, All of these outstanding individuals embody and have worked hard to promote the principles and standards of Junior ROTC. Each of them is the pride of Chicago; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this twentieth day of May, 2015, do hereby extend our congratulations to the following Chicago Public School cadets on their service as commander of their Junior ROTC units for the 2014-2015 school year, and to those cadets who received coveted appointments to national military service academies, and to those cadets who earned four-year ROTC scholarships to pursue their college education and commission as officers in the service of the United States of America: Alexis Alanis, Rickover Naval Academy; Hector Alvarez, Phoenix Military Academy; Juan Aviles, Air Force Academy High School; Joshany Cardenas, (City Corps Staff Commander), Curie Metropolitan High School; Jessica Cazares,

Curie Metropolitan High School; Jaime Comacho, Wells High School; Juanna Delano, Lane Technical College Preparatory High School; Jeremy Derosier, Frederick Douglass Academy High School; Zebedee Ducre, III, Phoenix Military Academy; Gamaliel Duran, Marine Leadership Academy; Nicolas Echeverria, Rickover Naval Academy; Edmundo Escutia, Lincoln Park High School; Ajla Fakic, Sullivan High School; Nayeli Ferrer, Farragut Career Academy High School; Dae'Mia Franklin, Tilden Career Community Academy High School; Sergio Gonzalez, Phoenix Military Academy; Matthew Hendricks, Englewood High School; Devin Hoevel, Lincoln Park High School; Gregory Holmes, Chicago Military Academy at Bronzeville; DeQuan Hoover, Morgan Park High School; Jennifer Isidore Benito Juarez Community Academy High School; Alonar Johnson, Carver Military Academy; Ronald Ligon, W. R. Harper High School; Caprice Locust, Marshall High School; Araceli Luna, Christian Fenger Academy High School; Johnquail Lyons, Hyde Park Career Academy High School; Gabriel Martinez, George Westinghouse College Preparatory High School; Osymetaku Maynie, Harlan Community Academy High School; Tanina McCorkle, Dunbar Vocational Career Academy High School; Timothy McGill, Chicago Military Academy at Bronzeville; Natalie Metoyer, Kelyvn Park High School; Ivory Miller, Emil Hirsch High School; Jose Munoz, Theodore Roosevelt High School; Johnny Newsome, Nicholas Senn High School;

Deion Oliver, Chicago Vocational Career Academy; Krystal Pena, George Westinghouse College Preparatory High School; Steven Pohl, William Howard Taft High School; Jason Poole, Carver Military Academy; Aliyah Potts, George H. Corliss High School; Elizabeth Reyes, Hubbard High School; Chassidy Rice, Edwin G. Foreman High School; Daisy Romero, Prosser High School; Javier Sauedo, Spry Community Links High School; Rebecca Siciu, Lake View High School; Niambi Smith, Clemente High School; Alejandro Solano, Schurz High School; Jesus Solorio, Gage High School; Damita Starks, Manley Career Academy High School; Sasha VanAllen, South Shore International College Preparatory High School; Kaylin Ware, Wendell P. Phillips High School; Angela White, Phoenix Military Academy; Donaldo Zepeda, Bowen High School; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary Chicago Public High School students as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a bright and prosperous future.