

Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

Legislation Text

File #: R2017-306, Version: 1

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

CITY OF CHICAGO

RAHM EMANUEL MAYOR

April 19,2017

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith, together with Aldermen Brookins, Solis, Mell and Burnett, a congratulatory resolution regarding the most recent recipients of the Golden Apple Teacher's Award.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Mayor

Very truly yours,

re so

o^by ^Me Gity Gouncil of ihe

Gity of Gkicago, Illinois

Aldermen Howard Brookins, Jr., Daniel Solis,. .

Walter Burnett, Jr., Deborah L. Mell, and

⁴,

presented by Mayor Rdhm Emanuel ., ____^} ♣ April !9, 2017 ,...jy"

AvflCTCWS' The Gc'lden. Apple Foundation has conferred its prestigious 2017 Golden Apple Award for .Excellence in Teaching on:- four Chicago teachers and- • conferred its 2017 Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award on one Chicago school principal '., in recognition of their outstanding achievements as educators; and

WHEREAS, A not-for-profit organization based in Chicago, the Golden Apple Foundation advances the profession of teaching by recognizing excellent educators; by, recruiting and preparing talented high school students and college graduates,to. be • teachers through innovative training programs; and by improving the skills of current - teachers through professional development; and ...'.-•" '.:"yyy

WHEREAS, Dedicated to its: founding proposition •that "all children deserve excellent teachers," the Golden- Apple; ^Foundation has¹ recognized, exceptional -teachers jn the Chica'go area each year since 1986; and -. ;> ■ ■ '

WHEREAS, Chosen through a rigorous process by a volunteer committee of . distinguished Chicago-area educators, this year's recipients of the Golden Apple Award' were selected from over 600 nominees; they are indeed worthy of recognition by their peers; and -'/ y ... ••• "-=..;'

WHEREAS, The Chicago recipients of the 2017 Golden Apple'. Award for Excellence .-=. in Teaching.are Mr. Fitzgerald Crame, 4th-8.th gfadeJanguage-brts^math, science, STEM, arts, and electives teacher, Thomas .A. Edison Regional Gifted Center, Ms. Sarah Fqller, -6thr8th grade literacy and '-social'science teacher, Jonathan Burr Elementary School, Ms. C Karen Ramirez, 6th' grade reading, writing, and social studies teacher, Richard J. Daley Academy, and Ms. Alison Ridgway, 6th-8th grade math teacher, 'Skinner North Classical -.... Elementary School; and : ..- '||r-w <file:///r-w>;.{ """| y'y:'yf "".,'..'=' | = = -'.,i

■ ' • WHEREAS, The recipientdf the '2017 Golden Apple' Stanley C. Golden Leadership ' AwgrdvisMs, Phyllis Cavallone-Jurek, Principal, St. Therese-Chinfese'Cathplic School; and. ■ ■

WHEREAS, Each Golden-Apple Award recipient receives a tuition-free, spring ' quarter sabbatical to

File #: R2017-306, Version: 1

study at Northwestern University. Each recipient also receives a \$5,000 honorarium.. Perhaps most importantly, Golden Apple teachers become . Fellows of the Golden Apple Academy of Educators, providing a,stronger voice and a larger stage from which to make an impact on education, through ongoing professional-development and engagement in education reforms as. the mentoring of future teachers through the Golderi Apple Scholars of Illinois program; and-;

WHEREAS, Each "Stanley C- Golder Award . recipient receives a \$10,000 honorarium, \$5,000 to be used for a school project and \$5,000 for personal professional' development; and ./-

WHEREAS, The recipients of the 20.17 Golden' Apple Awards for Excellence \n Teaching and Leadership will be honored on May 20, 2017. at WTTW/Channel 11 Studios in Chicago. WTTW will broadcast the awards in. a one-hour televised program; and \

WHEREAS,. Because our children are bur future,, no one is more deserving of our admiration and respect than these extraordinary'teachers;'-who give' generously of themselves each day to educate and inspire pur children; now, therefore,' « , . •", -

■ BE /T FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the 2017 Golden. Apple Award recipients" Fitzgerald Crarrie, Sarah:--Fdller, Karen Ramirez, Alison Ridgway, and Phyllis Cavalione-Jurek as-a token of.ouresteem and. good wishes.:,