

Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

Legislation Text

File #: R2017-399, Version: 1

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

RAHM EMANUEL MAYOR CITY OF CHICAGO

May 24, 2017

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith, together with Alderman Brookins, a congratulatory resolution concerning the 2017 Posse Scholars.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Mayor

Very truly yours,

adopud by ^cJ}ie Qity Qouncil of ^ Qity of Qkicago,

Alderman Howard Brookins, Jr. and resented by Mayor Rahm Emanuel

^Qh(2T6CIS' The Posse Foundation provides educational opportunities to public high school students with exceptional academic and leadership potential who may have been overlooked by traditional college selection

File #: R2017-399, Version: 1

processes; and

WHEREAS, The Posse Foundation identifies, recruits and trains student leaders nominated by their high school to form multicultural teams called "Posses," consisting of 10 to 12 Posse Scholars; and

WHEREAS, Posse Scholars undergo an intensive, eight-month, pre-coilegiate training program to prepare them for enrollment at prestigious colleges and universities nationwide, in a welcoming campus environment that promotes understanding, collaboration and cross-cultural communication; and

WHEREAS, One of the most comprehensive and renowned college access and youth leadership development programs in the United States, the Posse Foundation partners with top-tier colleges and universities to provide each Posse Scholar with a four-year, full-tuition, leadership scholarship; and

WHEREAS, Since the Posse Foundation was established in 1989, its educational partners have awarded \$931 million in scholarships to students nationwide, and \$165.7 million in scholarships to Chicago students, to expand the pool of outstanding, diverse college graduates; and

WHEREAS, The Posse Foundation collaborated with all of Chicago's Public High Schools to identify its 2017 Posse Scholars; and

WHEREAS, This year, 101 extraordinarily qualified Chicago Public High School students were selected to become Posse Scholars. This is a 42% increase over 2015. These enormously talented students will continue to pursue personal and academic excellence at twelve top-tier colleges and universities across the Country; and

WHEREAS, All of Chicago is tremendously proud of the hard work and dedication of its Posse Scholars. They are the pride and future of Chicago; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled this twenty-fourth day of May, 2017, do hereby congratulate the following Chicago Public School students named Posse Scholars: Ahmed Abbas, Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center; Stefanie Adan, Noble Street - Muchin; Malak Afaneh, Lane Technical High School; Baltazar Aquirre, Noble Street - DRW College Prep; Roman Ahmed, Lincoln Park High School; Brendan Aleman, Noble Street - Pritzker; Bukuru Anaclet, Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center; Ian Anderson, Urban Prep -Bronzeville Campus; Kamla Arshad, Mather High School; Tija Atkins, Noble Street -Golder; Carlos Bernal, Amundsen High School; Jose Brito, Noble Street - Muchin; Darnell Campbell, Northside College Preparatory High School; Alondra Carmona, Infinity Math, Science & Technology High School at Little Village; Giselle Castaneda, Lindblom Math and Science Academy High School; Stephanie Cerda-Ocampo, World Language High School; Shehrose Charania, Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center; Annel Chavez, Sarah E. Goode STEM Academy; Ming Chen, Kelly High School: Phil Chung, Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center: Jessica Cortez, George Westinghouse College Prep High School; Jacob Cosby, Northside College Preparatory High School; Diante Dancy, Noble Street - Johnson; Janira Delgado, North-Grand High School; Tashonna Douglas, Richard T. Crane Medical Preparatory High School; Sabian Edouard, Lane Technical High School; Michael Elue, Lincoln Park High School; Samuel Ferguson, Phoenix Military Academy; Alex Fernandez, Noble Street - Muchin; Giovanni Flores, George Washington High School; Rebecca Flores Hernandez, CICS - Northtown Campus; Juan Franco, Juarez Community Academy High School; Christian Franco, Solorio Academy; Anton Gallegos, The Ogden International School of Chicago High School; Belen Galvez, Farragut Career Academy High School; Kiana Gomez, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences (CHAS); Nia Gray, Lindblom Math and Science Academy High School; Darriana Greer, CICS-Ellison Campus; Thaddeus Gue, Northside College Preparatory High School; Torrence Gue, Northside College Preparatory High School; Michael Guzman, Solorio Academy; Desiree Hernandez, Noble Street College Prep; Janelle Herring, Jones College Preparatory High School; Jared Homsberry, Lincoln Park High School; Jiaqi Huang, Curie Metropolitan High School; Isabel Izquierdo, Senn High School; Kamyra Jennings, Harper High School; Jayla Johnson, Brooks College Preparatory

File #: R2017-399, Version: 1

Academy; Lamin Johnson, Mather High School; Emanuel Jones, Perspectives - HS of Technology Campus; Diana Lam, Whitney Young Magnet High School; Aiping Li, Curie Metropolitan High School; Javier Lopez, Hancock High School; Lisette Lopez, Prosser Career Academy; Britney Lux, Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center; Destiny Mack, Chicago High School for the Arts; Carlos Martinez, George Washington High School; Leandro Martinez, Taft High School; Annie Mei, Payton College Preparatory High School; Laurence Minter, Kenwood Academy High School; Sandra Mondragon, Instituto Health Sciences Career Academy; Daniel Monies, Kelly High School; DeJuan Moore, Urban Prep - West Campus; Ismael Mora, Bogan Technical High School; Arionna Moss, Morgan Park High School; Kopano Muhammad, Whitney Young Magnet High School; Emily Nash, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences (CHAS); Avery Nelson, Lindblom Math and Science

Academy High School; Gloria Oladipo, Whitney Young Magnet High School; Jasmine Orozco. Solorio Academy; Monica Osnaya, Lane Technical High School; Shamarah Patnett, Phillips Academy High School; Cesar Perez, Noble Street - Muchin; Abu Qader Lane, Technical High School; Marisol Reese, Kelly High School; Marlene Rios, Social Justice High School at Greater Lawndale/Little Village Campus; Kiara Rivera, Chicago High School for the Arts; Calice Robins, Whitney Young Magnet High School; Jose Romero, Noble Street - Golder; Jeffrey Sagun, Lincoln Park High School; Ivan Salgado, Farragut Career Academy High School; Alejandro Saucedo-Gutierrez, Solorio Academy; Kyre Smith, Chicago Military Academy - Bronzeville; Mirian Soria, Hancock High School; Deshawn Stephens, Urban Prep - Bronzeville Campus; Ivan Terrones, Lake View High School; Jacob Thomas, Lindblom Math and Science Academy High School; Gustavo Tovar, Lindblom Math and Science Academy High School; Julie Tran, Lane Technical High School; Hillary Tun, Senn High School; Moin Vahora, Senn High School; Jesus Valencia Medina, Solorio Academy; Leilani Vellon, Noble Street - Rauner; Rafael Villa, Back of the Yards College Prep; Lizbeth Villa, Juarez Community Academy High School; Lamont Wallace, Whitney Young Magnet High School; Emmanuel Williamson, Williams Prep; Szymon Wozniak, Lane Technical High School; Joshua Wyatt, Infinity Math, Science & Technology High School at Little Village; Katlyn Young, CICS ChicagoQuest; and Rania Ziar, Lane Technical High School; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary Chicago Public High School students as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a bright and prosperous future.