

Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

Legislation Text

File #: R2017-920, Version: 1

.mmrs-'-"WT-' :T'

City Council Declares November National Runaway Prevention Month

WHEREAS, Metro-Help was established in 1971 to fill a need for comprehensive crisis Intervention for young people in Chicago; and

WHEREAS, In 1974, the agency received an eight-month federal demonstration grant to Establish a national hotline. During this time, 11,000 calls were received demonstrating the need for this type of service; and

WHEREAS, National Runaway Prevention Month (NRPM) is spearheaded each year by the National Runaway Safeline (NRS) and National Network for Youth (NN4Y); and

WHEREAS, NRPM raises awareness of the runaway and homeless youth crisis and the issues that these young people face, as well as educates the public about solutions and the role they can play in ending youth homelessness; and

WHEREAS, The crisis services are available 24-hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year throughout the United States and its territories; and

WHEREAS, NRS makes 250,000 connections to help and bring hope through its hotline, online and offline services; and

WHEREAS, NRS has a free 14-module curriculum available in English and Spanish. It is a curriculum which consists of evidence-based assistance to help build life skills, increase awareness & knowledge about runaway resources and prevention; and

WHEREAS, NRS provides education and solution-focused interventions, offers non-sectarian, non-judgmental support, respects confidentiality, collaborates with volunteers, and responds to at-risk youth and their families; and

WHEREAS, NRS also provides services to siblings, teachers, officers, agency personnel, and anyone who is impacted by the runaway youth; and

WHEREAS, NRS provides services from crisis intervention, information, referrals, conference calls, message services, and Home Free (which has helped more than 15,000 youth reunite with their family); and

WHEREAS, The Green Light Project is a symbol for National Runaway Prevention Month and has been supported in the past with events such as a special NRPM message on the Wrigley Field Marquee and the lighting green of the Empire State Building in NYC; and

WHEREAS, In 2016, over 350,000 connections were made through social media using the #NRPM2016, further expanding the reach of the NRPM message and support for runaway and homeless youth; and

WHEREAS, NRPM began in October 2002. President Bush hosted the landmark White House Conference on

File #: R2017-920, Version: 1

Exploited and Runaway Children, where leaders from across the country convened to discuss issues and challenges related to the runaway and homeless youth crisis; and

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and members of the Chicago City Council, gathered here on this 8th day of November, 2017, do hereby recognize November as National Runaway Awareness Month; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be prepared and presented to National Runaway Switchboard.

Scott Waguespack Alderman, 32nd ward

Joe Moreno Alderman, 1st Ward Anthony Beale Alderman, 9th Ward

Brian Hopkins Alderman, 2nd Ward Susan Sadlowski Garza Alderman, 10th Ward

Pat Dowell Alderman, 3rd Ward Patrick Thompson Alderman, 11th Ward

Sophia King Alderman, 4th Ward George A. Cardenas Alderman, 12th Ward

Leslie Hairston Alderman, 5th Ward Marty Quinn Alderman, 13th Ward

Roderick Sawyer Alderman, 6th Ward Ed Burke Alderman, 14th Ward

Gregory Mitchell Alderman, 7th Ward Raymond Lopez Alderman, 15th Ward

File #: R2017-920, Version: 1

Michelle Harris Alderman, 8th Ward Toni Foulkes Alderman, 16th Ward

David Moore Alderman, 17th Ward Chris Taliaferro Alderman, 29th Ward

Derrick Curtis Alderman, 18th Ward Ariel E. Reboyras Alderman, 30th Ward

Matthew O'Shea Alderman, 19th Ward Milly Santiago Alderman, 31st Ward

Willie B. Cochran Alderman, 20th Ward Deborah Mell Alderman, 33rd Ward

Howard Brookins Jr. Alderman, 21st Ward Carrie Austin Alderman, 34th Ward

Ricardo Munoz Alderman, 22nd Ward Carlos Ramirez-Rosa Alderman, 35th Ward

Michael Zalewski Alderman, 23rd Ward Gilbert Villegas Alderman, 36th Ward

Michael Scott Jr. Alderman, 24th Ward Emma Mitts Alderman, 37th Ward

Daniel Solis Alderman, 25th Ward Nicholas Sposato Alderman, 38th Ward

Roberto Maldonado Alderman, 26th Ward Margaret Laurino Alderman, 39th Ward

Walter Burnett, Jr. Alderman, 27th Ward Patrick J. O'Connor Alderman, 40th Ward

Jason Ervin Alderman, 28th Ward Anthony Napolitano Alderman, 41st Ward Brendan Reilly Alderman, 42nd Ward

Michele Smith Alderman, 43rd Ward

Thomas M. Tunney Alderman, 44th Ward

John Arena ¹ Alderman, 45th Ward

James Cappleman Alderman, 46th Ward

Ameya Pawar Alderman, 47th Ward

Harry Osterman Alderman, 48th Ward

Joseph A. Moore Alderman, 49th Ward

Debra Silverstein Alderman, 50th Ward