

## Office of the City Clerk

City Hall 121 N. LaSalle St. Room 107 Chicago, IL 60602 www.chicityclerk.com

### Legislation Text

File #: R2021-1486, Version: 1

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR
CITY OF CHICAGO

LOR) E. LIGHTFOOT MAYOR

December 15, 2021

# TO THE HONORABLE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO

#### Ladies and Gentlemen:

I transmit herewith, together with Aldermen Sigcho-Lopez, Martin, Sadlowski Garza, Vasquez, Ramirez-Rosa, Silverstein, Coleman, Cappleman, Taylor, Waguespack, Fladden, Smith, Scott, Ervin, Lopez, Dowell, O'Shea, Rodriguez, Osterman, Hopkins, King, Villegas, La Spata, Brookins, Hairston, Thompson, Burnett, Rodriguez-Sanchez, Nugent and Tunney, a congratulatory resolution honoring high school State champions.

Your favorable consideration of this resolution will be appreciated.

Very truly yours.

#### **RESOLUTION**

WHEREAS, Each year Chicago Public Schools students compete in a wide variety of athletic competitions with the goal of qualifying for the Illinois High School Association ("IHSA") championships; and

WHEREAS, Many of our diverse, talented, and hard-working students have qualified for the 2021 IHSA championships in a variety of sports; and

WHEREAS, George Washington High School students Samuel Cruz, Brayan Lozano, Gabriel Fuentes,

#### File #: R2021-1486, Version: 1

Christian Aparicio, Jose Espinoza, Christopher Gomez, Juan Rodriguez, Angel Guzman, Joel Valdivia, Angel Huerta, Angel Larios, Cesar Martinez, Julian Martinez, Ricardo Perez, Christian Ramirez, Sebastian Ramirez, Giovanni Rosas, Leonardo Solis, Brian Soto, Angelo Williams, Raul Flores, Alexis Varela, Diego Garcia, Sacramento Diaz, and Alejandro Ortiz finished in third place in the state boys soccer championship, were runners-up for the City boys soccer championship, and were sectional champions for the third time in school history; and

WHEREAS, Wendell Phillips Academy High School students Tyler Swearegene, Teshaun Sheppard, Thomas Spaulding, Joseph Winslow, Jr., Jahon Walker, Dakwan Phillips, Avante Savage, Kyerre Howard, Jaykwon Armour, Tyler Turner, Steven Hirsch, Kameron Hoard, Eric Hernandez, Malik Griffin, Terrance Collins, Jr., Daeshawn Hill, Kahari Kelley, Keontaty Taylor, Antwon McAdams, Keevan Blanton, Demarion Logan, Larry Cowley, Ahshun Green, Jaylin Caldwell, Damien Thomas, Angelo Imala, Seth Cyrus, Kaleem Brown, Isaiah Solomon, Lattell Cowley, Crispus Travis, Yorel Johnson, Lome Brooks, Ravion Stevens, Cordero Broughton, Khalil Armour, Herschell Willie, Jacob Mcghee, Casey Moore, Tyler Skinner, Carmellos Magett, Emilio Louis-Jean, Sammy Davis, Jr., Treyshun Green, Jamarta Mathis, Elijah Straker, Jordan Jones, Carlos Magett, Jaqueal Barnes, Matthew J. Bibbs, Dayvone Rainey, Cameron Williams, Tavion Arms, Andre Prescott, Johnte Bridges, Ajahves Robinson, Ryan McDonald, Donte Robinson, Dashawn Sims, Hezekiah Clark, Marcus Davis, Jr., Omari McAfee, Rodney James, Dwayne Williams, Mario Shepard, Kentrell Thomas, Terrence McDonald, Dillon Penn, Dalvin Driver, Dmarion Green, Jalen Turner, Jamaree Counts, Justin Woods, Jacari Connor, Kamari Taylor, Solomon Dawson, and Joshua Taylor achieved a quarterfinal finish in the IHSA boys football championship; and

WHEREAS, A record 24 Chicago Public Schools teams, including Taft High School (8A), Young Magnet High School (7A), Mather High School (6A), Kennedy High School (6A), Simeon Career Academy (6A), Amundsen High School (6A), Kenwood Academy (6A), Chicago Bulls College Prep (5A), Payton College Prep High School (5A), Morgan Park High School (5A), Brooks College Prep High School (5A), Goode STEM Academy High School (5A), Comer College Prep (5A), Bogan High School (4A), Sullivan High School (4A), Hyde Park Academy High School (4A), Phillips Academy High School (4A), Catalyst Maria High School (3A), Carver Military Academy (3A), King College Prep High School (3A), Clark Magnet High School (3A), Julian High School (2A), North Lawndale College Prep High School (2A), and Raby High School (1A), participated in the IHSA boys football championship; and

WHEREAS, In the IHSA girls tennis championship, Whitney M. Young Magnet High School students Jenna Stevens, Miracle Huckabee, Jayna Dunwoody, Bella Mendes-Robles, Aria Fifer, Sydney Koleno, Esohae Osaghae, and Celena Ho finished in 8<sup>th</sup> place (Class 2A) and Walter Payton College Preparatory High School students Maya Jha, Hannah Goldwin, Lilia Tanabe, Corina Venerov, Maddy Spark, Nina Schnall, Julia Gershberg, and Addie Daab finished in 13<sup>th</sup> place (Class 1A); and

WHEREAS, Northside College Preparatory Academy students Hannah Shimada, Eliza Salus, Kenwood Academy High School student Isabella Crow, William Howard Taft High School student Kayla

Duran, and Whitney Young High School student Renee Tan all finished as IHSA state finalists in swimming and diving; and

WHEREAS, Mather High School students, Muhiyadin AN and Yasir Hirsi, Payton students Ritvik Viniak, Jospehine Dziedzic, Elias Wilkin, and Griffin Braunreiter, Senn High School student Tedros Mekonen, Northside Prep students Elia Ton-That, Lucia Ton-That, and Lane Tech College Preparatory High School student Hunter Whitney all finished as IHSA medalists in cross-country; and

WHEREAS, Whitney Young High School students Henry Reiland and Meilin Hoshino qualified and

#### File #: R2021-1486, Version: 1

placed in the IHSA golf tournament; and

WHEREAS, Whitney Young High School students, Sydney Robinson, Rachel Robinson, Jayden Eichoff-Brown and Madison Saunders all finished as IHSA medalists in track and field; and

WHEREAS, The Members of this Chamber are pleased to congratulate all ofthe members of the Chicago Public Schools teams on their overwhelming success in the IHSA championships; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled here this fifteenth day of December, 2021, do hereby applaud and congratulate all of these Chicago Public School students on their championship performances; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary Chicago Public School students as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a bright and prosperous future.